8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka

Sigiriya - Rock Fortress

Going by Sri Lanka’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites is an ordeal made a great deal more uncommon by the relative absence of sightseers contrasted with other South Asian nations. And from Kandy and Nuwara Eliya to Anuradhapura and Galle Fort, no visit to Sri Lanka is finished without seeing these historical places of Sri Lanka. Not many People know that there are only 8 UNESCO World Heritage sites in Sri Lanka, but these sites are extremely Beautiful and fascinating.

8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka

1. Dambulla Cave Temples, Dambulla

Cave Temples of Dambulla was declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991. At 150 km east of Colombo, the Dambulla Cave Temples also known as the ‘Golden Temple of Dambulla‘ are one of Sri Lanka’s most famous UNESCO sites to visit. It Comprises more than 80 caves, a huge number of statues, and artworks are situated inside of the five Major caves. Altogether, there are 3 statues of Sri Lankan rulers, 4 figures of divine beings and goddesses and 150 statues of Buddha. The site is the best-preserved cave temple complex in Sri Lanka, and the wall paintings inside of it cover an aggregate zone of around 2100 square meters.

Dambulla Cave Temples - Buddha Statues

2. Central Highlands of Sri Lanka

Central Highlands was Declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2010. It Comprises of three noteworthy environmental ranges the Peak Wilderness Protected Area, the Horton Plains National Park and the Knuckles Conservation Forest. The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka gets this status because of its great biodiversity. Horton Plains is additionally home to the renowned World’s End a sheer void that makes for one of Sri Lanka’s most hot spots.

Central Highlands of Sri Lanka

3. Sacred Tooth Relic Temple, Kandy City

Temple of Sacred Tooth Relic was declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1988. Kandy’s Sacred Tooth Relic is a standout amongst the most consecrated Buddhist symbols in the world. Situated inside of the royal palace ‘The Temple of the Tooth‘ the tooth, Buddha’s tooth, is worshipped by Buddhists globally. It was trusted that whoever holds the relic at any given time holds the administration of Sri Lanka. In real certainty, the entire town of Kandy is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, because of the vicinity of the Temple of the Tooth and the Tooth Relic inside.

The temple complex was bombed by terrorist in the past on multiple occasion, but it has been restored all the time.

Sri Dalada Maligawa - also known as sacred tooth relic temple

4. Sacred City of Anuradhapura

Anuradhapura city was declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1982. The first Ancient capital of Sri Lanka, Anuradhapura is a center point of culture, history, religion and spirituality. Approximately 200km north of Colombo, the advanced capital, the city goats faultless remnants of the Great Sri Lankan Civilization, which was viewed as one of the best civilizations in the world. The religious communities encompassing the city cover a region of around 40 square kilometers, and the city is viewed as holy among Buddhists on account of this.

Sacred city of Aunradhapura

5. Remains of Old Palace of Sigiriya

Sigiriya was declared UNESCO WOrld Heritage Site in 1982. Considered as the eighth wonder of the world, any visit to Sri Lanka’s Sigiriya is certain to be an exceptional one. Home to the remains of old palace from the fifth century AD, the Sky Palace arranged on top of the stone, the Lion Gate, the Mirror Wall and the well-known Sigiriya Frescoes the site endowments guests an understanding into an antiquated world.

The Palace also serves the purpose of fortress, the remains their suggested that. At the site there is enough evidence to provide its dual cause, and this amazes the tourist.

Sigiriya - Rock Fortress

6. Polonnaruwa

polonnaruwa was declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1982. Pronounced the capital of Sri Lanka in 1070 CE by King Vijayabahu I, Polonnaruwa is the second most old kingdom of Sri Lanka. The territory gloats amazing vestiges of this ancient kingdom, not slightest the Royal Palace, which is home to astounding timeworn segments. Today its remains are the best planned Archeological site in Sri Lanka.

Polonnaruwa ancient city

7. Sinharaja Forest Reserve

Sinharaja Forest Reserve was declared UNESCO World Heritage site in 1989. and Biosphere Reserve in 1978. The Sinharaja Forest Reserve is a national park of international importance. It’s name means ‘Kingdom of the Lion’ and is home to heap endemic species, including a populace of Panthers. Notwithstanding its convergence of verdure, the thick wilderness makes untamed life spotting exceptionally precarious in reality.

Sinharaja Forest Reserve - Adam's Peak

8. Galle – A former Portuguese colony

Galle was declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1988. A shoreline town situated on the southwestern tip of the country, Galle is home to a brilliant provincial stronghold and is the finest case of a strengthened city built by the Portuguese in south Asia. The town was later sustained by the Dutch and the British, loaning it a particular and rather a sentimental look and feel, even in the wake of being crushed by the 2004 tidal Tsunami .

Galle city of Sri Lanka

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *